So, I’ve been craving pudding. Store bought mixes do not set right when mixed with soy or rice milk. I decided to do some searching. I didn’t find how to make pudding like you find in pudding cups but I found this lovely recipe for Apple Bread Pudding on About.com. I modified the recipe for my own tastes as follows.

Ingredients:

4 cups 1/2 inch Whole-Grain Bread Cubes

1 cup finely chopped apple pieces

1/4 cup chopped cashews, pine nuts or pistachios (or a mix!)

3/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 cups plain soy milk

1/3 cup honey maple syrup

Instructions:

Step 1: Preheat the oven to 350°. Lightly oil two 2 cup heatproof dishes.

Step 2: In a medium-sized bowl, combine bread cubes, apple pieces, nuts, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and mix well. Use a wooden spoon to stir in the soy milk and syrup. allow mixture to stand for 10 minutes.

Step 3: Portion the mixture into the prepared dishes and back until golden brown, about 30-35 minutes. Drizzle with a mixture of cinnamon, rolled oats and syrup and serve warm.

Yields:  two 2 cup puddings

Enjoy!

