For me, I have found that diet alone does not always manage my IBS. Since stress can also trigger a flare up, I incorporate a regular exercise program to help release endorphins and other chemicals into my body that will help reduce my stress levels. I try to work out at least 30-60 minutes a day. Nothing to strenuous. Just something to

I spend the first 30 minutes doing yoga to relax and de-stress. My favorite is FitTV’s Namaste Yoga. They take it slow, they have easy routines for you to do until your body can adjust to bending in new ways if you’re not used to it. The easiest is Not only does it stretch you out and relax you, but it is also an easy way to tone, shape and strengthen your body. The best program to follow for a beginner would be the episode “Exalted Warrior”. It is an all rounded stretch and the most difficult portion of the routine is the triangle pose. I normally follow a video until I get used to it and can do the full stretches and then move to another episode.

On Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays I spend the other 30 minutes running. Nothing too hardcore. I a light jog interspersed with walking. On Wednesdays and Sundays I do a bit of cross training. I either play tennis, badminton, go swimming, a hike,  follow a workout video or do some kind of other cardio training. I used Mondays and Fridays as rest days to help my body recover and rebuild.  Rest days are important. Your body needs time to rebuild. You could cause harm to yourself if you don’t allow your muscles to rebuild themselves.

Always remember to rehydrate. Drink plenty of water!

