My mom got me a slow cooker for Christmas and I’ve been looking for recipes to put it to use. Most recipes don’t take long enough for me to start it before I head to work and be done around the time I get home. Most that I have looked at finish to soon due to the type of meat that I generally have to cook (poultry and fish). I started into pork recipes and came across this one. It sounded rather delicious so I decided to make it. I modified the original recipe, changed out a couple of ingredients. It was delicious upon completion.

Ingredients

21/2 – to 3- pound pork sirloin roast

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1 tablespoon cooking oil

2 medium onions, cut into thin wedges

4 12 oz. cans root beer*

6 cloves garlic, minced

10 oz. bottled sweet chili sauce

Instructions

Step 1: If necessary, cut roast to fit into a 3-1/2- to 5-quart crockery cooker. Sprinkle meat with the salt and pepper. In a large skillet brown meat on all sides in hot oil. Drain off fat. Transfer meat to cooker. Add onions, the 1 can root beer, and garlic.

Step 2: Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 8 to 10 hours or on high-heat setting for 4 to 5 hours.

Step 3: For sauce: in a medium saucepan combine the 3 cans of root beer and the chili sauce. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Boil gently, uncovered, stirring occasionally, about 30 minutes or until mixture is reduced to 2 cups.

Step 4: Transfer roast to a cutting board or serving platter. Using a slotted spoon, remove onions from cooking juices and place on serving platter. Discard juices. Using 2 forks, pull meat apart into shreds.

Yields  8 to 10 servings.

*Note: Do not substitute with diet root beer.

