And I’m back (hopefully for good this time)! Married, and now a home owner! I think my life has finally settled down a bit so I can get back into sharing dairy free alternatives for you wonderful readers. So in that spirit, let’s get started.

So, I was grocery shopping yesterday bemoaning the fact that my favored grocer doesn’t carry my favorite brand of soy yogurt. In fact, the recently stopped carrying and  soy yogurt. They used to carry Whole Soy & Co – but only in 3 flavors. I have become a fan of Silk Live! with its variety of flavors; don’t get me wrong, go to the right store and Whole Soy & Co has a multitude of flavors as well from plain to lemon to cherry. Whole Soy & Co is lacking in the exotic flavors like Key Lime Pie and Strawberry Banana that Silk Live! has.

But alas, Silk has also done away with the Silk Live! line. They have switched to Silk Fruity and Creamy which gloriously my favored grocer now carries. Silk is currently only out in 3 flavors: Strawberry, Blueberry and Peach Mango. I just finished my first cup of Peach Mango. Its delicious. It doesn’t have huge pieces of fruit in it, but it is full of flavor and doesn’t have that soy after taste that some soy alternatives can have. It’s been a long time since I had real yogurt, but I do have to say that Silk Fruity and Creamy reminds me of when I could eat soy yogurt. I like the taste and texture better than I like Whole Soy and Co.; but at the moment Whole Soy and Co. now wins the multitude of flavors count.

Side by side comparison of the nutrition information:

Silk Fruity and Creamy

Whole Soy & Co.

Serving size: 1 container (150g) Serving size: 1 container (170g)
Calories: 150g Calories: 160g
Calories from Fat: 30g Calories from Fat: 30g
Total Fat: 3g Total Fat: 3g
Saturated Fat: 0g Saturated Fat: 0.5g
Sodium: 120 mg Sodium: 20 mg
Cholesterol: 0mg Cholesterol: 0mg
Total Carbs: 25g Total Carbs: 27g
Dietary Fiber: 2g Dietary Fiber: 2g
Sugars: 19g Sugars: 18g
Protein: 6g Protein: 6g
Vitamin A: 0% Vitamin A: 2%
Calcium: 20% Calcium: 30%
Vitamin C: 0% Vitamin C: 0%
Iron: 6% Iron: 6%

The Silk Fruity and Creamy portion size is a bit smaller and has fewer calories, so if you’re watching your calorie in take it’s a good option. It is higher in sodium than the Whole Soy and Co. as well. Both are Non-GMO verified. The Whole Soy & Co. is fully organic while the Silk Fruity and Creamy is not (Silk Live! was – come on Silk what’s the deal?).  Both also contain live active cultures to aid in digestion. Another thing to note is that Whole Soy and Co. is labeled certified vegan, but I can’t find any information on whether Silk Fruity and Creamy is.

In the end I feel it’s a tie between the two. While I like the taste better of the Silk yogurt as well as it being a smaller portion size, Whole Soy & Co now has the bigger variety of flavors and is also organic. Either one is a good option to go with if you’re in need of a soy alternative for yogurt.

