Non-dairy yogurt alternatives, particularly soy yogurt, seems to be a big topic. I see a lot of people coming to Alternatives for the Not So Vegan looking for soy yogurt information. I thought I’d make post dedicated to Soy yogurt products – the good and the not so good alike. So without further ado below you will find a list of companies that market Soy yogurts that I have come across in my travels around the whole food sections in the local grocers. It is not a complete list, but it’s something to get you started. Also note, these are in no particular order.

Stonyfield Organic

Beware this “soy” yogurt if you are completely allergic to dairy or are trying to keep dairy out of your diet. This full dairy alternative to yogurt is only lactose free, not dairy free. The live active cultures in this yogurt are milk based. Being the case, I can’t try this one to let you know what you’re getting into. I do feel that if they are going to market that they have a soy yogurt, they should have a bigger disclaimer on it than an allergy warning under the nutrition information. If you’re not like me and can have small amounts of dairy, it is organic – both in the soy milk and the fruit it uses; as well as being lactose-free. It also conveniently comes in a 6 pack and not individual cups.

Silk

Silk used to have a brand called Silk Live! That had a many flavors from your typical Strawberry, Peach and Blueberry to Black Cherry, Key Lime Pie and Strawberry Banana. It seems this product has been discontinued and they are now marketing Silk Fruity and Creamy which only has 3 flavors at the moment: Strawberry, Blueberry and Peach Mango. Also because this is a new product, they only come in 5.3 oz individual cups.  That being said, it is completely dairy, lactose, gluten, casein, egg and MSG free. It also doesn’t have any high-fructose corn syrup or artificial flavors or colors. For those who are absolutely no dairy it is a good source of calcium and vitamin D.

WholeSoy & Co.

Since Silk Live! has been discontinued, WholeSoy & Co. has jumped to the top of the list of soy yogurt flavor variety. The cups come in 2 sizes, 24 oz. and 6 oz., and between the 2 sizes there are 12 flavors. The 24 oz. comes in 3 flavors: Plain, Unsweetened Plain and Vanilla. The 6 oz. comes in 11 flavors: Apricot Mango, Blueberry, Cherry, Key Lime, Lemon, Mixed Berry, Peach, Plain, Plain, Raspberry, Strawberry and Vanilla. I haven’t seen the Key Lime or Apricot Mango in any of the stores in my area, but everything but the Plain and the Vanilla tastes good to me. I do sometimes find the taste to be to tart or tangy. The plain and vanilla yogurts especially. All the yogurts offered by WholeSoy & Co. are Non-GMO verified and Organic, Vegan, gluten-free, and 100% dairy free.

Trader Joe’s

I haven’t been to Trader Joe’s in a long time. Last time I was in their soy yogurt selection consisted of Strawberry, Peach and Blueberry. I have been notified that some Trader Joe’s do carry Vanilla. I remember when I was buying this yogurt, I wasn’t overly fond of it plain. Something in the texture wasn’t right and I could only eat a couple of bites before I’d have to stop and wait a while. It is very friendly on the budget. When I last bought it, it was only $0.99 at my local Trader Joe’s. Silk Fruity and Creamy and the WholeSoy & Co. are around $1.29 – $.149 depending on where I shop. Trader Joe’s is vegan, and gluten-free.

Soy Delicious

I’ve mentioned in a earlier posting that Turtle Mountain’s Soy Delicious brand had a soy yogurt. It looks like since that posting, they have discontinued the product. I never got to try that one as no grocer around here would carry it.

These are all the soy yogurt’s I’ve come across. Feel free to leave a comment if you know of any other brands that offer a soy flavor. I’ll update the list as I try them out!

