Late again! My apologies. I keep forgetting to schedule these posts.

Today’s is another quickie. I fixed this with my sister the other day. It turned out really good. Growing up I never liked asparagus. I don’t think I ever really tried it either. My sister and brother didn’t really like it so I figured it was some terrible awful vegetable. My parents never had to fight to get me to eat vegetables or fruits, but I wouldn’t go near asparagus for some reason. It wasn’t until I had the Venetian Apricot Chicken from Olive Garden that I realized I liked asparagus. It is served with a side of steamed asparagus and I gave it a try and found it to be quite delicious. So when I was staying with my sister a couple of weekends ago, I decided to fix her up a batch of roasted asparagus. I won’t say I’ve perfected the technique; mine tends to come out a little tender but with a little crunch and that’s the way I like it.

So here’s how I make it. Using a whole bundle of fresh asparagus cut about an inch off the end of the stalk. Turn the oven on broil temperature and let it warm up. Arrange the asparagus in a single layer on a cookie sheet and lightly coat with extra virgin olive oil. Add your favorite seasonings, I usually use sea salt, fresh ground 4 color peppercorn, 1 clove minced garlic, a dash of onion powder and a splash of lemon juice. Place the asparagus on the top shelf of the oven and roast for 6 minutes. Pull out and flip the asparagus and roast for another 6 minutes.

Yea, it’s that simple and quite tasty. Enjoy!

