Experimentation a success! I have acquired 5 pounds of organic naturally raised pork chops from a co-worker and I must say it is very delicious.  I have always loved pork chops, even when I was a kid. My favorite way to make them is to pan fry them with a little salt, pepper, garlic and fresh diced onions. But, I wanted to do something special in honor of my organic pork, and I love lemon so I decided to make a Lemon and rosemary sauce to put on my pork chops. Add in a few potatoes and you have a delicious meal. You can do this all in one pan if you have an oven safe skillet (I don’t) so I improvised with a cookie sheet for oven baking. Also, having a separate dish for the oven helped make it so I could get this dish done quicker. I could work on different parts of the meal while things were in the oven. It also helps to have an extra set of hands in the kitchen; my husband squeezed the lemons for me. I’ll be doing this recipe from how I managed it tonight, I’ll include notes at the end on how to do it all in one pan. Okay, enough about the hows and whys, on with the food!

Ingredients

5 3 – 4 oz boneless pork chops

2 medium russet potatoes, diced into approximate 1 inch cubes. Do not skin.

1 can Swanson low sodium chicken broth

4 cloves fresh garlic, minced

2 teaspoons rosemary leaves finely chopped

5 large lemons

Earth Balance buttery spread

1/3 cup fresh parsley finely chopped

Sea salt and fresh ground 4 color peppercorn mix

Extra virgin olive oil

Instructions

Step 1: Preheat oven to Broil.

Step 2: Slice a small portion of each end off each lemon and then cut each lemon in half cross-ways. Set the lemons on their fleshy parts up on a cookie sheet. Once the oven is preheated, place the lemons on the top rack of the oven and broil for 10 minutes.

Step 3: While the lemons are broiling, heat and decent amount of olive oil in a large pan on medium-high heat. Season the pork with salt and pepper. Once the oil is hot, pan fry the pork until all sides are brown. Remove pork from the pan and add the diced potatoes and pan fry until brown on all sides and then remove from heat. Drain off excess oil.

Step 4: Once the lemons are done, pull them out of the oven and reduce heat to 425 degrees. Allow to cool until you can pick them up.

Step 5: On the cookie sheet, pile the potatoes and cover with the pork chops. Place the cookie sheet in the oven and bake the potatoes and pork chops for 30 minutes.

Step 6: Squeeze the lemons through a sieve (or in my case a mesh scoop because I have yet to acquire a sieve). Push the pulp around on the sieve to squeeze as much juice out of the lemons as you can.

Step 7: In the pan, on medium-high heat, add the garlic and rosemary and cook until fragrant (this should take about 1 minute) add in half the can of the chicken broth and the lemon juice. Stir until all the bits of potato and pork on the pan come loose and then add in the last half of the chicken broth. Bring to a simmer and let boil down until the contents reduces by about half. Add the parsley, salt and pepper to taste. Melt buttery spread, 1 tablespoon at a time, in the mixture until there is just the right amount of lemon flavor.

Server up a pork chop and some potatoes. Add as much sauce as you like. I opted to not pour the sauce over everything for a couple of reasons. 1. because it comes out really runny (you could probably add a smidgen of flour while its cooking to help thicken it up) and 2. because I wanted to keep the pork chops open for something else for left overs if I wasn’t feeling lemon rosemary sauce tomorrow. That’s my brain at work for you. Well, that’s me thinking about my husband and his desires to not eat the same thing two nights in a row!

Also note, this recipe makes enough for 2 people to have one meal of pork and potatoes with three pork chops and about a cup of sauce (depending on how much you used) left over.

Enjoy!

