Wow, today got away from me. I didn’t even realize it was Monday. Three-day weekends really screw up my schedule! Enough of my lateness, I’m here now. And now, for something cool, crisp, and refreshing to combat the sweltering heat of summer. I love salad, but sometimes lettuce gets kind of old. I like to spice my salads up using thinly sliced zucchini or carrots (or both!). And, that’s what I’ve got for you today. Thinly sliced carrots in a homemade ginger dressing sauce.

Ingredients

1 pound carrots, large sticks that can be easily shaved with a vegetable peeler

1 clove crushed garlic

1 teaspoon finely chopped and peeled ginger

1 lime, juice and zest collected

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro

Instructions

Step 1: Using a vegetable peeler, shave the carrots into thing ribbons.

Step 2: Mix garlic, ginger, lime juice and lime zest.

Step 3: Whisk vegetable oil into the dressing.

Step 4: Toss the carrots into the dressing.

Step 5: Add cilantro and salt and toss again.

Enjoy!

